O.R.k. Remix Contest

Just a couple of days ago I found out that some of my favourite musicians decided to join together to release an album, and allowed to preorder it on a crowdfunding website, Music Raiser.

The name of the band is “O.R.k.” and the founders are none but Lef, Colin Edwin, Pat Mastelotto and Carmelo Pipitone.

You probably have heard their names, if not, Colin Edwin is the bassist from Porcupine Tree while Carmelo Pipitone is the gifted guitarist from Marta Sui Tubi, an extremely original Italian band, they probably did the most interesting things in Italian music in the last 15 years or so; Lef, aka Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari, has done so many things that is quite hard to pick just one, but in Metal community he is probably best know for Obake. Finally, Pat Mastelotto is the drummer of King Crimson, and this alone made me jump on my seat!

One of the pre-order bonus was the ability to participate to a Remix Contest, and although I only got the stems yesterday in the late morning I could not resist to at least give it a try, and it’s a great honour for me that they have put my attempt on their Youtube channel:

It’s a weird feeling editing this music, after all, who am I to cut and remix and change the drum part (King Crimson, please forgive me!), how I ever dare to touch the guitars and voice, or rearrange the bass!? 🙂

But indeed it was a really fun experience, and I hope to be able do this again in the future.

And who knows, maybe they even like how I messed up their art and they decide to put me on their album! Nevertheless, it has been already a great honour for me to be able to see this material in semi-raw form (and a very interesting one!), so this has been already my first prize.

I’m looking forward now to listen the rest of the album!

Leave a Reply

